Mt. Holiday was opened in 1949 under the name Holiday Hills by a group of local businessmen. In 1985, Warren and Sue Brosch purchased the area and ran it for 14 years as Mt. Holiday, adding two chairlifts, a new ski patrol building and the first half-pipe in Michigan (and likely the midwest). In 1999, Mr. Brosch died in an accident at the area and the area closed in 2001.
Another group of local investors purchased and re-opened the area which is still operating as Mt. Holiday. The area is run by a non-profit foundation and is dedicated to providing a skiing experience for any and all kids in the Traverse City area.